Book Reviews

This category contains 11 posts

Book Review: The Secret of the Sea

The Secret of the Sea on Goodreads BOOK SUMMARY: A fast-paced suspense thriller set in the Indian state of Goa.  Inspector Pinto receives a call one evening, about a new case. A young college student Namita is murdered at Morjim beach in Goa and her body is found floating in the sea. Inspector Pinto leads the investigation, only … Continue reading

Book Review: I am big. So what!?

About the Book Is it only in India where people don’t realize that starting a conversation with, “Oh, you’ve put on weight!” is incredibly rude? Perhaps I should respond with “Oh, you’ve become uglier!” so they get the point. From stores that do not stock clothes my size to unsolicited advice from neighborhood aunties, my … Continue reading

Book Review: The Shadow of Darkness

About the Book: When Maya fought two criminals one night and saved herself and her five year old daughter, Sejal, she thought the worst was over. But was it really? Or, there could be something worse than the worst? The childhood trauma that little Sejal did not deserve resulted in nightmares, trust issues and bizarre … Continue reading

Book Review: The Geography of You and Me

About the Book: Lucy lives on the twenty-fourth floor. Owen lives in the basement. It’s fitting, then, that they meet in the middle — stuck between two floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they’re rescued, Lucy and Owen spend the night wandering the … Continue reading

Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

About the Book: The New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, Jojo Moyes, Emma Straub, and Rainbow Rowell. “We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story.”    … Continue reading

Book Review: Lez Just Not Only Be Friends

The Story: Les jus not be only friendz (1) is based on relationships and various phases of a graduate student’s life. The novel is set in Noida (NCR) in the time-period of 2009 – 2011. The novel tells the story of a young, average performer and simple middle-class guy, who in desperate bid to not … Continue reading

Book Review: The Bridal Pyre by Avantika Debnath

The position of a woman in society is in every age a difficult one as the very task of asserting her identity and individuality in a world governed by patriarchy is always a precarious one.To make matters when women due to wrong education or no education at all and their social conditioning starts exploiting the … Continue reading

Book Review: When We Collided by Emery Lord

When We Collided Emery Lord Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Amazon | Amazon Kindle Price: Rs 350    ABOUT THE BOOK:    Seventeen year old Jonah Daniels has lived in Verona Cove, California, his whole life, and only one thing has ever changed: his father used to be alive, and now he’s not. Now Jonah must numbly … Continue reading

Book Review: Playlist For The Dead by Michelle Falkoff

Book Blurb:  There was a party. There was a fight. The next morning, Sam’s best friend, Hayden, was dead. And all he left Sam was a playlist of songs and a suicide note: For Sam—listen and you’ll understand. To figure out what happened, Sam has to rely on the playlist and his own memory. But … Continue reading

Book Review: Finding Audrey

The best thing about Sophie Kinsella is that her characters make you feel more real, more into the practical world. I think I’ve been saying a lot about my non-compliance to Young Adult novels. It’s not that I hate them, but apart from one or two, I couldn’t relate to them. This inability in me … Continue reading