Book Reviews

This category contains 17 posts

Book Review: TwoSpells

Twospells “What do you suppose that place is?” Percy asked. “It’s kinda spooky isn’t it?” “I think it’s beautiful,” Sarah’s mother said. “It always was. Always will be.” Sarah pressed her face to the window. “What is it?” “It’s called Twospells,” her mother replied. “It’s a castle, of sorts.” Twospells is the debut novel by … Continue reading

Book Review: Tell Me Three Things

About the Author: 1. Julie Buxbaum is the author of the critically acclaimed The Opposite of Love and After You, and the soon to be released YA novel Tell Me Three Things and her work has been translated into twenty-five languages.    2. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband, two young children, and … Continue reading

Book Review: Cherish Hard

Summary-   New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh kicks off her new Hard Play contemporary romance series with a sizzling story that’ll leave you smiling…Sailor Bishop has only one goal for his future – to create a successful landscaping business. No distractions allowed. Then he comes face-to-face and lips-to-lips with a woman who blushes … Continue reading

Book Review: Deadly Silence

Summary-   DON’T LOOK BACK Under siege. That’s how Ryker Jones feels. The Lost Bastards Investigative Agency he opened up with his blood brothers has lost a client in a brutal way. The past he can’t outrun is resurfacing, threatening to drag him down in the undertow. And the beautiful woman he’s been trying to … Continue reading

Book Review: The Secret of the Sea

The Secret of the Sea on Goodreads BOOK SUMMARY: A fast-paced suspense thriller set in the Indian state of Goa.  Inspector Pinto receives a call one evening, about a new case. A young college student Namita is murdered at Morjim beach in Goa and her body is found floating in the sea. Inspector Pinto leads the investigation, only … Continue reading

Book Review: I am big. So what!?

About the Book Is it only in India where people don’t realize that starting a conversation with, “Oh, you’ve put on weight!” is incredibly rude? Perhaps I should respond with “Oh, you’ve become uglier!” so they get the point. From stores that do not stock clothes my size to unsolicited advice from neighborhood aunties, my … Continue reading

Book Review: The Shadow of Darkness

About the Book: When Maya fought two criminals one night and saved herself and her five year old daughter, Sejal, she thought the worst was over. But was it really? Or, there could be something worse than the worst? The childhood trauma that little Sejal did not deserve resulted in nightmares, trust issues and bizarre … Continue reading

Book Review: Side Effects May Vary

About the Book: For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel about a girl with cancer who creates a take-no-prisoners bucket list that sets off a war at school—only to discover she’s gone into remission. When sixteen-year-old Alice is diagnosed with leukemia, she vows to spend her final months righting wrongs. … Continue reading

Book Review: Bookishly Ever After

About the Book In a perfect world, sixteen-year-old Phoebe Martins’ life would be a book. Preferably one filled with magic and a hot paranormal love interest. Unfortunately, her life probably wouldn’t even qualify for a quiet contemporary. Everything changes when Phoebe learns that Dev, the hottest guy in the clarinet section, might actually have a … Continue reading

Book Review: The Geography of You and Me

About the Book: Lucy lives on the twenty-fourth floor. Owen lives in the basement. It’s fitting, then, that they meet in the middle — stuck between two floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they’re rescued, Lucy and Owen spend the night wandering the … Continue reading